The Young Jury Prize was awarded to “The Mystery of Dark Matter”, by Arte France.

A full list of all the European Science TV and New Media Awards 2014 is available.

The Glasgow Young Jury was drawn from students and pupils (aged 15-19) at the University of Strathclyde, Bellahouston Academy, University of Glasgow, Notre Dame High School, John Paul Academy and All Saints Secondary School.

They were asked to judge seven science TV documentaries for their production values, originality and their scientific content to decide on a shortlist of 3 productions to go forward to the European Science TV and New Media Awards 2014. Members of the Jury came together at an event held at Cineworld IMAX at Glasgow Science Centre earlier in November to hear the collective result from across Glasgow.

The Glasgow Jury voted the BBC’s “Pain… Michael Mosley presents” as the best science documentary in their opinion. This was followed by “The Mystery of Dark Matter” by Arte France and in third place, “Techman” by VPRO from the Netherlands.

The collective European Young Jury, however, voted “The Mystery of Dark Matter” by Arte France the best science documentary from this year’s nominees. The BBC’s “Pain” and “Techman” by VPRO were the runners up in the collective European vote – chiming with the Glasgow top 3, if a different overall winner!

Glasgow City of Science delivered the project in Glasgow through partnership with Creative Clyde, Twig world, Cineworld, Glasgow Science Centre, Europaws and Euroscience.

Programme Director for Glasgow City of Science, Dr Susie Mitchell said, “The creative industries represents a key economic sector for Glasgow City of Science and the Young Jury project is an excellent example of an international partnership project that aims to promote science education and wider public engagement in science. Furthermore, it presents young learners in Glasgow and the West of Scotland with a unique opportunity to influence a major European project.”

The Young Jury activity prompted the development of an inaugural Glasgow City of Science, 60 Second Science Mobile Movie Competition with young people invited to submit their own short science films to be judged by an expert panel. The winning film was “the McGurk Effect” from Tim Revell and Ross Macfarlane.


Glasgow City of Science

Glasgow Science Centre



Creative Clyde

Twig World